Cafe Astrology .com



Home | About Us | Site Map | Search

Astrology Symbols & Glyphs


So, you have your natal chart and want to know what all those squiggly lines represent. The following table is a handy reference for understanding the symbols (glyphs) in astrology.

Astrological Glyphs:

The Signs of the Zodiac:

Aries Libra
Taurus Scorpio
Gemini Sagittarius
Cancer Capricorn
Leo Aquarius
Virgo Pisces


Sun Jupiter
Moon Saturn
Mercury Uranus
Venus Neptune
Mars Pluto*

* Another glyph for Pluto is


Other Points, Symbols & Asteroids:

Ascendant North Node
Midheaven South Node
Vertex Retrograde
Part of Fortune Chiron
Ceres Amor
Juno Psyche
Pallas Sappho
Vesta Equatorial Ascendant
Eros Descendant



Conjunction Sesquiquadrature
Semi-sextile Quincunx (or inconjunct)
Sextile Opposition
Square Parallel
Trine Contra-parallel



Need help finding out the sign of your (or someone else's) planets? See our article, How to Obtain Your Natal Chart.



Learn more about Cafe Astrology on our About Us page.

Go straight to our Articles to learn more about Astrology.


Explore your relationship dynamics with a lover, partner, or love interest with a COMPATIBILITY REPORT.